Weeks of Action 2016

Weeks of Action logo

This year’s Level Playing Field Weeks of Action campaign will take place from the 2nd – 17th April 2016.

 

LPF’s Weeks of Action were established in 2005 to help highlight the positive initiatives undertaken by clubs, sporting venues and their governing bodies in partnership with disabled sports fans and disabled supporters associations. 

 

LPF is pleased to be aligning this year’s campaign with the Centre for Access to Football in Europe’s week of action – Total Football Total Access which will see a range of activities and initiatives taking place across Europe

 

‘Disabled people are the largest minority group’

 

At least 15% of the UK population is disabled - a figure that is increasing year on year - with disabled people constituting the largest minority group. It can be reasonably assumed that many disabled people will be sports fans who attend, or aspire to attend live sports events.

 

The 2016 LPF Weeks of Action aims to celebrate access and inclusion and to highlight the social, economic and reputational benefits of providing accessible venues and inclusive matchdays for all sports loving fans.

 


 

Below you can find this year's schedule of awareness days which we will be promoting during the campaign:

 

Saturday 2nd April

World Autism awareness day

Monday 4th April

The Social Model of disability

Tuesday 5th April

Colourblind awareness

Wednesday 6th April

Deaf & hard of hearing awareness

Thursday 7th April

Hidden disabilities awareness

Friday 8th April

Mental ill health awareness

Monday 11th April

Reporting of disability abuse

Tuesday 12th April

Dementia awareness

Wednesday 13th April

Disabled Supporters Association awareness

Thursday 14th April

Blind & partially sighted awareness

Friday 15th April

‘Changing Places’ awareness

 


 

More information on how you can get involved in this years Weeks of Action

 

29.03.16